OREGON KI SOCIETY

Special Events

In addition to the regularly scheduled classes offered throughout the state, the Northwest Ki Federation and the Oregon Ki Society conduct a number of special training events in the course of the year.

See our full calendar of special events by clicking here.

March, 2017

Taigi Shinsakai
Saturday, March 11
All day
SW Dojo opens at 8:30am. Children Divisions A/1&2, Teen/Adult Divisions 3&4, Instructor Demos. Members perform Taigis and Team ukemi exercises. Sign up and get details at your dojo.

No Class
Sunday, March 12
All day
There will be no regular Sunday class.

April, 2017

Kiatsu Seminar #1
Saturday, April 1 - Sunday, April 2
9:00 am on Saturday to 4:00 pm on Sunday
Seminar #1 is open to all current Kiatsu students and graduates. Advanced Ki-Aikido students and instructors (brown and black belts) are invited to attend the Saturday session.

New Instructors Workshop
Sunday, April 9
12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
This class is for new instructors teaching their own class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei.

No Class
Sunday, April 16
All day
There are no classes in observance of Easter.

Spring Camp
Saturday, April 22 - Sunday, April 23
All day
One of two annual opportunities to train Aikido intensively, Spring camp is open to all current students.

Randori Class
Sunday, April 30
9:30 am - 10:30 am
The usual advanced aikido class will cover randori. All students brown belt and up are encouraged to attend.

May, 2017

Instructors Workshop
Sunday, May 7
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata sensei. Details TBA.

No Class
Sunday, May 14
All day
There are no Sunday classes in observance of Mothers Day.

Board Testing
Sunday, May 21
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm
Testing for brown and black belts.

No Classes
Sunday, May 28 - Monday, May 29
All day
There are no classes in observance of Memorial Day.

June, 2017

Children's Instructor Class
Friday, June 9
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Open to instructors and assistants in the Childrens' Program.

Kids Camp
Saturday, June 10 - Sunday, June 11
9:00 am on Saturday to 3:00 pm on Sunday
The annual kids' camp is this weekend, featuring lots of training and activities for members of the children's program.

No Class
Sunday, June 18
All day
There will be no regular Sunday classes.

July, 2017

No Classes
Sunday, July 2 - Tuesday, July 4
All day
There will be no classes in observance of Independence Day.

New Instructors Workshop
Sunday, July 9
12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
This class is for new instructors teaching their own class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei.

Senior Instructors Workshop
Saturday, July 22 - Sunday, July 23
All day
There will be regular Sunday Ki class from 11-12.

September, 2017

No Classes
Sunday, September 3 - Monday, September 4
All day
There will be no classes in observance of Labor Day.

Randori Class
Sunday, September 17
9:30 am - 10:30 am
The usual advanced aikido class will cover randori. All students brown belt and up are encouraged to attend.

October, 2017

Board Testing
Sunday, October 1
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm
Testing for brown and black belts.

New Instructors Workshop
Sunday, October 8
12:30 pm - 4:00 pm
This class is for new instructors teaching their own class, with feedback from Tabata Sensei.

Instructors Workshop
Sunday, October 22
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
The workshop will focus on teaching skills for aikido instructors currently teaching a class, with feedback from Tabata sensei. Details TBA.

November, 2017

Kiatsu Seminar #3
Saturday, November 4 - Sunday, November 5
9:00 am on Saturday to 4:00 pm on Sunday
Seminar #3 is open to all current Kiatsu students and graduates. Advanced Ki-Aikido students and instructors (brown and black belts) are invited to attend the Saturday session.

Fall Camp
Saturday, November 18 - Sunday, November 19
All day
One of two annual opportunities to train Aikido intensively, Fall camp is open to all current students.

No Class
Thursday, November 23
All day
There will be no class.

No Class
Sunday, November 26
All day
There will be no regular Sunday classes.

December, 2017

OKS Management Conference
Sunday, December 3
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
All dojo officers and instructors are invited to attend. No classes Sunday Dec 3rd.

Holiday Break
Thursday, December 21 - Monday, January 1
All day
There will be no classes over the holiday break. Classes will resume Tuesday Jan 2nd.

January, 2018

Misogi
Sunday, January 7
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Please arrive by 9:30am. Misogi will start at 10:00am. Party to follow from 12:00-3:00pm.